Back to top


Director: Erping Li


Professor Erping Li is Dean of ZJU-UIUC Institute, Vice Dean of the Faculty of Information Technology at Zhejiang University. He was elected as Chang Jiang Distinguished Professor. His research interests include applied electromagnetics, RF engineering, EMC, micro/nanoelectronic eleomagnetics, signal integrity, 3D electronic package integration and nano-plasmonic technology.

Deputy Director: Linrong Lu


Professor Linrong Lu serves as Vice Dean of ZJU-UoE Institute, a Member of the Standing Committee of Immunology & Infection Branch, Chinese Society for Immunology, and Secretary General of the Immune Cell Biology Branch, Chinese Society of Cell Biology. He was awarded as “Qiu-Shi” Distinguished Professor by Zhejiang University, New Century Talent by Ministry of Education, Young and Middle-aged Leading Talent for Science, and Technology Innovation by Ministry of Science and Technology. His main research area is immunology.

Members: (in alphabetical order)


Bingfeng Ju

Professor Bingfeng Ju is Deputy Dean of School of Mechanical Engineering and Director of the Center for Micro/Nano Manufacturing and System Integration, Zhejiang University. He was awarded with National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars, and Chang Jiang Scholar Professor. His main research interests include precision mechatronics and measurement systems, ultra-precision metrology, development and applications of MEMS&NEMS.


Chaofeng Lv

Professor Chaofeng Lv serves as Deputy Dean of College of Civil Engineering and Architecture, Zhejiang University. He was elected to Chang Jiang Scholars Program, and awarded with National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars. His research interests include smart materials and structures, energy harvesting in engineering structures, and mechanics of stretchable/flexible electronics with particular applications in bio-integrated devices.


Hao Ma

Professor Hao Ma serves as Vice Dean of ZJU-UIUC Institute, Vice Dean of Electrical Engineering College, Zhejiang University, Director of Academic Committee of China Power Supply Society, as well as Vice President and Secretary-general of Power Supply Society of Zhejiang Province. He was elected AdCom Member of IEEE Industrial Electronics Society (2014-2015). His research interests include Advanced Control in Power Electronics, Wireless Power Transfer, Fault Diagnosis of Power Electronic Circuits and Systems, and Application of Power Electronics.


Huaxin Huang

Professor Huaxin Huang is Dean for Faculty of Humanity, Director of Faculty of Humanities, Chairman of Center for the Study of Language and Cognition, and Member of Academic Affairs Committee, Zhejiang University. His research mainly focuses on the logic of language and cognitive pragmatics.


Jun Ma

Professor Jun Ma obtained his Ph.D. degree from Harvard University in 1990. He was elected a junior fellow of the Harvard Society of Fellows from 1989 to 1992. He is currently a professor at the Institute of Genetics and Children’s Hospital at Zhejiang University.  His research mainly focuses on gene regulation mechanisms.


K.C. Ting

Professor K.C. Ting is Vice Dean of International Campus, Zhejiang University. He served as Professor and Head, Department of Agricultural and Biological Engineering, UIUC from 2004 to 2016. He was elected a Member of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Foundation Board of Trustees (2009-2015), a Fellow of Food Systems Leadership Institute (2006-2008), Fellow of ASME (2002), and Fellow of ASABE (2001). His research mainly focuses on agricultural engineering.


Kui Ren

Professor Kui Ren is Director of Institute of Cyber Security Research at Zhejiang University, and Fellow of IEEE. He served as SUNY Empire Innovation Professor at State University of New York at Buffalo (UB).  His current research interests include Data Security, IoT Security, and Privacy.


Lianzhen He

Professor Lianzhen He is Vice President of Zhejiang University, Dean of International Campus, Zhejiang University, Director of Research Institute of Applied Linguistics at Zhejiang University, Co-director of Zhejiang-Bristol Joint Research Center on Language Assessment, and has been Deputy Director of the National Advisory Board for College Foreign Language Teaching of the Ministry of Education since 2006. She was awarded National Professor of Distinction by Ministry of Education in 2006. Her main research interests include language testing, corpus linguistics and discourse analysis.


Philip T. Krein

Professor Philip T. Krein is Executive Dean of ZJU-UIUC Institute. He holds the Grainger Endowed Emeritus Chair in Electric Machinery and Electromechanics and is Professor Emeritus and Director of the Grainger Center for Electric Machinery and Electromechanics. He is a Fellow of IEEE, and received the IEEE William E. Newell Award in Power Electronics. He was elected to the U.S. National Academy of Engineering in 2016. His research interests address all aspects of power electronics, machines, drives, electric transportation, and electrical energy, with emphasis on nonlinear control approaches.


Qingqing Wang

Professor Qingqing Wang is Dean of School of Basic Medical Sciences, and Vice Director of the Institute of Immunology, Zhejiang University. She was elected to the Leading Talent in Innovative Science & Technology of National 10,000 Plan, and Chief Scientist of National Program on Key Basic Research Project (973 Program). Her major research interests are innate immunity and inflammation, tumor microenvironment and immune escape.


Sue Welburn

Professor Sue Welburn is Executive Dean of ZJU-UoE Institute, Founding Director of the Global Health Academy, Assistant Principal for Global Health, Vice Principal for Global Access, Fellow of The Royal Society of Edinburgh, Fellow of the Royal Society of Medicine, and Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology. Her research has focused on the interactions between parasites and their vectors and hosts that lead to transmission of human sleeping sickness. She was awarded the Chancellor’s Medal by HRH The Princess Royal, Princess Anne, Chancellor of The University of Edinburgh for her work on development of research-led distance learning MScs.


Tianxin Cai

Professor Tianxin Cai gained his doctoral degree from Shandong University. He is Professor of Mathematics at Zhejiang University. His main research interests include number theory, history of science, literature, history of arts.


Wee Liat Ong

Professor Wee Liat Ong received his BSc Degree in Mechanical Engineering from National University of Singapore, and Ph.D. degree in Mechanical Engineering from Carnegie Mellon University (CMU), USA. He was a joint post-doctoral fellow at Columbia University and Carnegie Mellon University. He currently serves as Associate Professor at ZJU-UIUC Institute. His main research interests include nanoscale heat transfer and energy.


Wei Guo

Professor Wei Guo earned his Ph.D. degree from University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, USA in 2002. Following the postdoctoral training at University of California, during 2003 to 2010, he joined the School of Medicine of Tsinghua University as a tenure-track associate professor in 2010. He is now Associate Professor at ZJI-UoE Institute. His research mainly focuses on stem cells and cancer.